top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Bertram

2nd Year at FILS and Couldn't Be Happier!


Good afternoon!

Well, this is my first blog post of the school year! Here we go...

As I look back on where I was this time last year, as a brand new teacher in a brand new school and in a brand new community, I can't even fathom the emotions I must have been facing. Imagine: walking into an empty classroom and putting all of your hopes and dreams up on the walls, praying that everything will come together the way it looks in your head; going through a curriculum you have never taught before and trying to organize what you're going to teach the first week of school; and being told you have a school-wide open house where you're going to meet ALL of the new students and parents that you'll be teaching that school year, hoping you make a spectacular first impression... Talk about pressure, anxiety, and stress all combined into two busy weeks!

In college, my professors always told me that my first year of teaching was going to be crazy, stressful, and I would never have any time for myself. One word: FALSE. Never in my wildest dreams did I think that I would be blessed with such an amazing job. Upon my first day of arrival, all of the staff at FILS were so welcoming and helpful to me. Anytime that I was walking around looking confused, someone always comforted me and directed me in the right direction. People were always stopping in, welcoming me to the school and telling me to not be afraid to ask for anything. And after my very first open house, parents kept telling me that I made a great impression and that their son/daughter were excited to have me. Was there pressure? Yes. Was there anxiety? Absolutely. Was there stress? You betcha! But would I trade it for anything? Absolutely not.

Fast-forward to the 2016-2017 FILS Open House. Same procedures at last year, but a completely different experience. Last night, I was able to walk into my classroom, happily set all of my homeroom students' folders on their desks, and anticipate the moment when all of my students would walk into the hallways, excited to decorate their lockers and hug their friends as if they hadn't seen them all summer, when we all know that they saw each other 2 days ago at their meetup at The Chocolate Factory. And you know what? Last night was even better than I had thought it would be. Last night, I had students see me, yell my name, and rush over to give me the greatest bear hug ever. I had students, walk into my classroom and tell me that they were so excited to be back and couldn't wait to have me again this year. I even had former students come back to visit and tell me that they wanted to have me again (shout out to you Zoey Zautner!). Open House, while exhausting, anxiety-stricken, and stressful, was such a fantastic, nostalgic evening for students, parents, and teachers alike, and I am overjoyed to have been a part of it.

Furthermore, as this is officially my 2nd year at FILS, I can honestly say that I couldn't be happier. God has truly blessed each and every one of us with such an amazing school for our students to not only get the greatest education they could get, but also a place where they can learn about Christ in a Christ-centered environment. I thank God every day that I have been placed at FILS and able to Act.Love.Walk. with Christ with each and every one of my students.

God's blessings on your day! Less than 24 hours before opening chapel!

In Christ,

Grace


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page