top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Bertram

Week 4


Good morning!

I hope all of you had a wonderful weekend and a blessed Sunday! I know for a fact that recovering from a cold these past 2 weeks has exhausted me, and as a result of that, I managed to sleep 11.5 hours on Saturday... Oops! I love fall more than anything, but my allergies are trying to take me down! Good thing the students always make my days better :)

Listed below are some important dates to remember for all grades:

Important Dates

  • MAP Testing this week (6th and 8th graders)

  • Kindness Adventure Assembly (K-6th) - September 20th

  • Student Council Meeting @ 7:05 a.m. - September 20th

  • Scholastic Book Orders Due to Ms. Bertram with a CHECK or online - September 26th

  • School Pictures - September 27-28th

  • Mid-Quarter - September 30th

Last week

6th Grade ~ In 6th grade last week the students worked on another Monday Meditation and we finished up setting our MAP goals. It is my hope that the 6th graders will be able to meet all of the goals that they have set for themselves! On Wednesday, we did a grammar lesson on Nouns and Verbs, and I introduced the students to classifying sentences. Based on student participation, I have high hopes that the students are going to fly through Shurley Grammar with no troubles at all! :) The rest of week we continued working on being good readers, including Author's Purpose and Drawing Conclusions.

7th Grade ~ In 7th grade last week, the students discussed China's One Child Policy, which relates to one of the laws in our novel that we are beginning to read. Speaking of which, we started reading Among the Hidden which is about a child who is called a "shadow child"; meaning that he isn't supposed to exist, but living among the hidden secretly... hence the title of the name. The students seem to be liking it so far! Throughout the book, the students will be answering comprehension questions and doing journal prompts, all of which can be located in the students' Google Drive. On Wednesday, we did a grammar lesson on Nouns and Verbs, and I introduced the students to classifying sentences. Based on student participation, I have high hopes that the students are going to fly through Shurley Grammar with no troubles at all! :)

8th Grade ~ In 8th grade last week, the students received their 2nd list of Latin/Greek roots, in which they all did fantastic on on Friday! On Wednesday, we did a grammar lesson on Nouns and Verbs, and I introduced the students to classifying sentences. Based on student participation, I have high hopes that the students are going to fly through Shurley Grammar with no troubles at all! :) The rest of the week, we worked on finishing their "What's in a Name?" essays, including proper title page and bibliography format, and creating their digital word cloud "fingerprint." I will begin grading those essays this next week.

What a busy week! And this week is just as busy! Hope you have a great week!

God's blessings!

Grace


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page