top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Bertram

Weeks 17 & 18


Good morning!

I hope you all survived the very VERY chilly winter wonderland that we had this weekend. As I dug my car out of the 3 foot heap of snow, I'm sure everyone in my neighborhood could hear me complaining. When I trudged inside muttering to myself and climbed onto the couch, I went on Facebook and saw that my family back home in Minnesota was experiencing -46 degree weather. YIKES! It was then that I realized that I probably shouldn't be complaining because people have it worse than I do... Sigh. Long story short, every day we should be thankful for the things we have been blessed with: warm clothing, a house, HEAT! I think Christmas time is always that time of the year that I think about those less fortunate than me and how I can help them, and it is always my hope that I can instill that thought in my students. We all live in a community where we have been blessed with many great things; why not share and help those who are less fortunate? Just a thought to throw at you this chilly morning :)

Important Dates:

  • Last day of classes before Christmas break - December 22nd

  • Christmas break - December 23rd - January 2nd

  • Book trailers start - January 3rd

  • Spirit Week - January 3rd - January 6th

  • Holiday Tournament - January 6th - January 8th

  • Student Council meeting - January 10th @ 7:05 a.m.

  • End of 2nd Quarter - January 13th

Last Week/This Week

6th Grade ~ Last week, the 6th graders finished up Section 3 of Drums, Girls, & Dangerous Pie. We did some comprehension checks via questions and prompts. In grammar, we continued to work with prepositions, taking a quiz on list #2, and creating a map and writing directions using prepositions to a specific location in the school. This week on Monday, the students will be taking a very short quiz on Section 3 of DGDP. We will also be reading "The Grinch" and doing a fun writing prompt to go along with the story. On Wednesday, we will play grammar review games and take our quiz on list #3 of the prepositions.

7th Grade ~ Last week, the 7th graders finished up their onomatopoeia comic strips. We then learned about imagery, similes, and metaphors. As a class, we worked on analyzing poems, locating the imagery and similes and metaphors. In grammar, we continued to work with prepositions, taking a quiz on list #2, and creating a map and writing directions using prepositions to a specific location in the school. This week, the 7th graders will learn about personification, and then use what they have learned thus far about figurative language to do a figurative language lyric scavenger hunt. Just a reminder that on Wednesday we will be taking a quiz on list #3 of prepositions.

8th Grade ~ Last week, the 8th graders took a quiz on The Book Thief (they all did fantastically, by the way). As a class, we also finished reading Part 2 of the book, and did a short assignment on letter writing from the perspective of the main character from the book. In grammar, we continued to work with prepositions, taking a quiz on list #2, and practicing following directions using prepositions and our drawing skills :) This week, we will be taking a break from TBT, and reading a short story by O'Henry, titled "The Gift of the Magi." Just a reminder that on Wednesday we will be taking a quiz on list #3 of prepositions.

***ALL GRADES ~

  • Just a reminder that book trailers are due when we get back from Christmas break! The rubric can be found in the students' language arts folders. I have shown the students MANY examples of book trailers; however, if they are still confused, there are a few examples on the rubric as well.

  • Prepositions list #3 quiz is on Wednesday.

  • If you are participating in the Compassion Christmas donations, remember that they are due to either me or Mrs. Valdez no later than Thursday, December 22nd.

Have a blessed week! Stay warm!

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

Grace


49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page