top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Bertram

Week 30


HAPPY FRIDAY!!

Wowza! I'm glad it's Friday. It's been SO crazy with MAP testing and SO many people being gone for Nationals! I know that after I write this, I don't plan on getting out of my PJs until Sunday morning for church (I promise I'll at least shower!). Also, congrats to our boys on their first game win at Nationals! If you're interested in watching the games this weekend, you can go to this link: http://lbaa.org/. Next game is tonight at 7:00 p.m. Cannot wait to watch and cheer on my Wildcats!

Important Events

  • April 4th - Student Council meeting @ 7:05 a.m.

  • April 8-17th - Easter/Spring Break!

  • April 18th - Student Council meeting @ 7:05 a.m.

  • April 21-25th - 7th/8th Grade D.C. Trip

This Week

6th Grade ~ This week, the 6th graders continued working on their Literature Circle books and activity choice boards (final activity for packet due Monday). The students will be finishing up with their Literature Circle books next Thursday (completed when they come to class on Thursday), and then I will be introducing the final project that they will be working on in groups. In grammar, the students were introduced to interjections (my favorite part of speech!). We will continue to do more practice with interjections in the weeks to come.

7th Grade ~ This week, the 7th graders finished reading The Outsiders, and did a final evaluation of the ending of the book (which many of them did not do very well on...). One thing that I have been seeing as a trend these last few weeks is that many of the 7th graders have been getting 8th grade/summer fever, which is causing them to forget to complete assignments/read directions/stay focused in class. Now, this is completely normal this time of year and I see it every year, but it should still never be an excuse when it comes to homework completion! If you have been noticing lower grades on your child's assignments, I ask that you talk with them about making sure to push through the rest of this year and stay strong. I hate seeing grades suffer because of excitement for summer/8th grade! :) Anyways........... On Thursday, I handed out a permission slip to watch The Outsiders movie. Those slips are due to me by next Wednesday. If you have not seen the slip/signed it yet, you may want to ask your child about it, haha. Also this week (it was a busy one!), I explained the final project for this novel unit - this project will be due next Friday. In grammar, the students were introduced to interjections (my favorite part of speech!). We will continue to do more practice with interjections in the weeks to come.

8th Grade ~ This week, the 8th graders were introduced to their Exceptionalities Research Project. I try not to overwhelm them that first day, and I think that they handled it very well. :) I also sent home that packet in which they were to show you and have you sign saying that you are well aware of the project and upcoming due dates. These signatures are due to me by Monday, so if you have not seen the packet yet, you may want to ask your child about it :) On Wednesday, the students chose their research topics for the project, and then were introduced to interjections (my favorite part of speech!). We will continue to do more practice with interjections in the weeks to come. The rest of the week (because of Nationals) was devoted to playing their Kahoots about The Book Thief that many of them chose to create for their final project for the novel unit. Next week, we will start full swing into the researching portion of the research project!

ALL ~ IF YOU HAVE THE CHANCE, EITHER GO SUPPORT OR WATCH OUR WILDCAT BOYS PLAY IN THE NATIONAL TOURNAMENT THIS WEEKEND!

Go Wildcats!

Grace


70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page