top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Bertram

Week 7


Goooooooood morning and happy Monday!

I hope it was a very relaxful weekend for you all. I know that I feel a little guilty about the "absolutely nothing" I did all weekend... I guess sometimes you just need to rejuvenate for the next week!

Also, thank you to all of those who sent their children to the youth event on Friday at Lammscapes! I know I had a ton of fun, and I enjoyed watching the kids play Gaga Ball, as well as Bop! I also really appreciated the fact that Daisy (my dog) was exhausted after the event and went home and crashed :)

Important Events:

  • October 9-12th - Box Top Collection

  • October 12th - Box Top Clipping Party @ 2:30-4 p.m. in Mrs. Valdez' room

  • October 13th - Feed My Starving Children @ CUW 9-12 p.m.

  • October 16th - Book Talks begin

  • October 23-27th - Red Ribbon Week!

  • October 27th - End of 1st Quarter

  • October 27th - Leaf Raking after school until 1:30 p.m.

  • October 27th - Reformation Faire

Last Week

6th Grade ~ Last week, the 6th graders finished up their second unit of Good Habits, Great Readers by reading one last story, "The Hatmaker and Her Daugher", and then completed the Unit 2: Write About It. Then on Thursday and Friday, the students and I played Jeopardy to review all that we had learned so far this year. Starting this week, we will begin our Patriot's Pen unit. In grammar, the students took their Chapter 2 test on adjectives. This week, we will begin Chapter 3, which is on prepositions.

7th Grade ~ Last week, the 7th graders continued to read The Giver. Their enthusiasm is still as strong as it was at the beginning of the unit, making this novel study not only a blast for the students, but also for me. To go along with reading ch. 11-13, the students did some comprehension questions, took a simple quiz on ch. 6-12, completed journal prompt #3, and then as a class we did a color activity on Friday. This week, we will continue reading The Giver, and discussing the events that go along with the story. In grammar, the students took their Chapter 2 test on adjectives. This week, we will begin Chapter 3, which is on prepositions.

8th Grade ~ Last week, the 8th graders received list #6 of Latin/Greek roots, and took a quiz on Friday. We then did a short pre-reading activity for "The Veldt" our short story, which involved very briefly researching the 1950's and its culture. We then spent the rest of the week reading "The Veldt", and then watched the movie version of the short story on Friday. The students and I had fun comparing and contrasting the text to the film in a short Venn Diagram activity. This week, we will be reading our last "short" story, "The Monkey's Paw." In grammar, the students began Chapter 3, which is on prepositions.

All ~ Book talks start in 1 week!!

I hope you have a blessed week!

Grace


55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page