top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Bertram

Week 24


Happy Tuesday!

The rain has finally stopped... which is definitely a good thing! This morning on my way to school I don't know how many yards and driveways I saw flooded. I hope and pray that none of your basements overflowed this morning. I've definitely lived through that a few times and it's NOT fun! I also pray that you had a blessed long weekend! My mother came to visit me and I did some adulting by looking at condos! What an exciting, yet exhausting adventure :P

ANNOUNCEMENT: Book boards are IN! If your child will be doing a book board or need a tri-fold board for their project, they can get those from me any time in the near future! I have 40 in my classroom, so it's basically first come first serve! Less than a month until all projects are due!

Important Dates:

  • February 27th - Student Council meeting @ 7:05 a.m.

  • March 5th - 14th - 3rd Quarter book project presentations

  • March 12th - 16th - Scholastic Book Fair!

  • March 16th - Grandparent's Day!

  • March 16th - End of 3rd Quarter/early dismissal @ 11:10 a.m.

Last Week:

6th Grade ~ Last week, the 6th graders continued reading with their literature circle groups, which involved group reading, group tasks, and another job in the job packet (we will be finishing up the packet this week). In Genius Hour, the students worked on their author research, as well as some that have moved on towards planning/working on their author presentations! Additionally, the students did earn their movie day for good behavior, so we watched "Lilo and Stitch" on Tuesday and Wednesday. Again, thank you to those parents who donated food for the Valentine's Day party! The kids had a blast!

7th Grade ~ Last week, the 7th graders continued reading Crispin. Note: we are about half way through the book now, meaning that the students will be doing more reading by themselves and in small groups, and less with me so as to implement GRR (Gradual Release of Responsibility). In other words, I've gotta prepare them for next year when we read The Book Thief :) On Monday, the students and I did a fun Middle Ages free-write activity (check Seesaw for a brief video), where I played Middle Ages music, and the students had to write a story based on the imagery that the music created. It was really fun! I love this activity :) Again, thank you to those parents who donated food for the Valentine's Day party! The kids had a blast!

8th Grade ~ Last week, the 8th graders completed list 17 of their Latin/Greek roots. We will begin list 18 this week. On Monday, the students and I discussed their Auschwitz webquest, and I truly hope that the students gained a better appreciation and compassion for the Jews that died unfairly in WWII. The rest of the week, the students and I read Part 7 of TBT, and on Friday, the 8th graders completed a letter "RAFT" assignment, where they had to write a thank you letter from the POV of Max (a character from TBT). Starting this week, we will be sailing through the rest of the novel, so as to prepare us for the end of 3rd quarter! Again, thank you to those parents who donated food for the Valentine's Day party! The kids had a blast!

Have a blessed week!

Grace


40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page