top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Bertram

Week 3

Happy Monday!


What a beautiful weekend we had! I know it's only September, but the fall-lover in me is just itching to get the season rolling. However, I know that we're in that "false fall" stage right now and I'm trying to not get my hopes high, haha :)


Important Dates:

  • September 17th - Student Council meeting @ 7:05 a.m.

  • September 25th - School pictures

  • September 27th - Mid-quarter


Last Week:


6th Grade ~ Last week, the 6th graders did not have a Monday Meditation; I enjoyed reading the previous week's responses though, and was very impressed with the writing level so far! The rest of the week, the students and I discussed author's purpose, and practiced with it through different activities - predicting purposes, reading a short story called "The Adventures of the Totally Average Boy," and completing some research on favorite authors. In grammar, the students reviewed adverbs & adjectives and did a worksheet.


7th Grade ~ Last week, the 7th graders reviewed the different elements of a story via BINGO and Quizlet, and then took their quiz on Thursday. After the quiz, I also had the students complete an individual close reading sheet to show me what they remembered from last year (which was a lot! YAY!). On Friday, I started preparing the students for our first novel study - Among the Hidden - by discussing the affects of a massive increase in Earth's population. We will continue those discussions early this week. In Shurley Grammar, the students reviewed adverbs and adjectives and did a worksheet. In advanced grammar, the students learned about complete & simple subjects/predicates and did a worksheet.


8th Grade ~ Last week, the 8th graders practiced with their 2nd list of Latin/Greek roots and took a quiz on Friday. Many of the students did not do very well on the first quiz, which I explained to them was VERY normal, and that once they understand the format of the next quiz they'd do just fine... and they did do just fine last Friday :) Throughout the rest of the week, the 8th graders began working on their What's In a Name Essay, in which the rough draft was due today. The rubric for this essay can be found in your student's LA folder in Google Drive. In grammar, the students and I did a fast-paced review of everything they learned last year; we will finish that review this week.


That's all I have for you this week! Have a great week!


Grace


78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page